CHFA Task Force on Loss Mitigation

MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, November 30th, 2011

2:00 PM in Room 2B of the Legislative Office Building

The meeting was called to order at 2:10PM by Rep. Joseph Taborsak

The following committee members were present:

Rep. Joseph Taborsak, Rep. Mike Alberts, Dara Kovel, Bridget Russell, Jeff Gentes, Theresa Madonna, Carmine Costa, Catherine Birch

The following task force members were absent:

Paul Hughes

Asks for nominations for Chairman

Rep Mikes Alberts nominates Rep. Taborsak as Chairman

Motion passes unanimously on a voice vote at 2:16pm

Rep. Taborsak asks members to give a brief introduction.

Members

Dara Kovel - Chief Housing Officer, CHFA

Bridget Russell – Managing Director, for Neighborhood Housing Center New Haven

Jeff Gentes – Managing Attorney Foreclosure Prevention for Connecticut Fair Housing Center

Theresa Madonna – Private practice attorney in Southeastern Connecticut

Carmine Costa - Works with State Banking Department

Catherine Birch – Attorney

Rep. Mike Alberts – 50th District State Representative, Ranking Member on the Connecticut General Assembly Committee on Banking, and Senior Commercial Loan Officer at a Community Bank.

Task Force Staff

Eileen Lawlor - Legislative Commissioners Office, Banks Committee

Chris Reinhart- Office of Legislative Research, Banks Committee

Justin Rosen - Clerk of Banks Committee, Administrator for CHFA Task Force

Rep. Taborsak – Overview of Task Force.

To review and evaluate loss mitigation programs administered by Connecticut Housing Finance Authority (CHFA) and submit a report on its findings and recommendations to the Banks Committee. Section 5, Public Act No. 11-201

Appointment of Subcommittees

Sub-Committee on Foreclosure Mediation and CT Banking Department

Members:

Jeff Gentes Carmine Costa Joe Taborsak

Sub-Committee on Housing Counselors and Private Bar Attorneys

Members:

Bridget Russell Theresa Madonna Paul Hughes

Sub-Committee on CHFA Bond Rating, Debt Service and Funding Issues

<u>Members</u>: Rep. Michael Alberts Dara Kovel Jeff Gentes Catherine Birch Next meeting will be Wednesday December 14th, 2011 at 2:00PM in Room 2A of the Legislative Office Building.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:02PM